Human as Nature

EXHIBITION

Human as Nature

30 September 2016 - 26 November 2016

Jarvis Dooney stellt Polixeni Papapetrou, eine der führenden zeitgenössischen Fotografinnen Australiens vor. Erstmals wird ihre jüngste Serie Eden ausgestellt, zusammen mit The Ghillies aus dem Jahr 2013. Die beiden Serien betrachten die Beziehung des Menschen zur Natur und die Parallelen, die in dieser Beziehung zum Männlichen und zum Weiblichen bestehen.

In The Ghillies tragen Jungen Tarnuniformen, die auch beider Jagd und im Krieg üblich sind. Krieger in einer nicht kultivierten Landschaft sind Symbole der Macht, Stärke und Männlichkeit. Doch die Figuren wirken isoliert und verletzlich, wie Jugendliche, die auf das Erwachsensein warten und wollen, dass ihre Präsenz wahrgenommen, aber nicht herausgestellt wird.

Eden zeigt hingegen junge Frauen, die mit Blumen geschmückt sind, um ihre Verwandlung vom Kind zur Erwachsenen zu symbolisieren. Die ungezähmte Natur wird durch gezüchtete Blumen ersetzt, die für Naturschönheit, Fruchtbarkeit und Reinheit stehen. Ebenso wie ihre Pendants in The Ghillies entkommen auch die Mädchen nicht ihrem Gender-Image. In der gemeinsamen Präsentation werden diese gesellschaftlichen Konstrukte durch ihre Beziehung zur natürlichen Welt betont.


EXHIBITED ARTISTS

Polixeni Papapetrou

EXHIBITED WORK

Amarantine
Amarantine
Polixeni Papapetrou
Delphi
Delphi
Polixeni Papapetrou
Blinded
Blinded
Polixeni Papapetrou
Amaryllis
Amaryllis
Polixeni Papapetrou
Eden
Eden
Polixeni Papapetrou
Flora
Flora
Polixeni Papapetrou
Spring
Spring
Polixeni Papapetrou
Rhodora
Rhodora
Polixeni Papapetrou
Psyche
Psyche
Polixeni Papapetrou
Heart
Heart
Polixeni Papapetrou
Desert Man
Desert Man
Polixeni Papapetrou
Study for Hattah Man and Hattah Woman
Study for Hattah Man and Hattah Woman
Polixeni Papapetrou
Study for the Ghillies
Study for the Ghillies
Polixeni Papapetrou
Salt Man
Salt Man
Polixeni Papapetrou
Ocean Man
Ocean Man
Polixeni Papapetrou
Magma Man
Magma Man
Polixeni Papapetrou
Grasstree Man
Grasstree Man
Polixeni Papapetrou

Human as Nature

EXHIBITION

Human as Nature

30 September 2016 - 26 November 2016

Jarvis Dooney is pleased to present one of Australia’s leading contemporary photographers, Polixeni Papapetrou. Exhibited for the first time internationally will be her most recent series Eden juxtaposed with her 2013 body of work The Ghillies. Presented together, these two series look at the human connection to nature as well as the masculine and feminine parallels that exist in this relationship.

In The Ghillies, boys wear camouflage uniforms, like those for hunting and warfare. Warriors in the untamed landscape are symbols of power, strength and masculinity. However, like juveniles awaiting adulthood, the figures seem isolated and vulnerable, wanting their presence to be known, but not singled out. 

Eden in contrast, depicts young women decorated with flowers to symbolise their metamorphosis from child to adult. Wild nature replaced with domestic flowers, depicted as the beauty of nature, fertility and purity. Like their counterparts in The Ghillies, the girls cannot escape their gender image. Presented together, these social constructs are further emphasised in relationship to the natural world.


EXHIBITED ARTISTS

Polixeni Papapetrou

EXHIBITED WORK

Amarantine
Amarantine
Polixeni Papapetrou
Delphi
Delphi
Polixeni Papapetrou
Blinded
Blinded
Polixeni Papapetrou
Amaryllis
Amaryllis
Polixeni Papapetrou
Eden
Eden
Polixeni Papapetrou
Flora
Flora
Polixeni Papapetrou
Spring
Spring
Polixeni Papapetrou
Rhodora
Rhodora
Polixeni Papapetrou
Psyche
Psyche
Polixeni Papapetrou
Heart
Heart
Polixeni Papapetrou
Desert Man
Desert Man
Polixeni Papapetrou
Study for Hattah Man and Hattah Woman
Study for Hattah Man and Hattah Woman
Polixeni Papapetrou
Study for the Ghillies
Study for the Ghillies
Polixeni Papapetrou
Salt Man
Salt Man
Polixeni Papapetrou
Ocean Man
Ocean Man
Polixeni Papapetrou
Magma Man
Magma Man
Polixeni Papapetrou
Grasstree Man
Grasstree Man
Polixeni Papapetrou